The “wet market”

I wish that there was a ‘medical theorist’ forum. I just don’t know how many people on this forum are qualified to help you to find a reliable and fact based answer.
Correct. I’m just going by news reports, right or wrong. There does seem to be some fact based evidence, but I’m far from an an expert in this field.

I read that these are hard to shut down because there is also a traditional and spiritual element in them. They have been around for thousands of years and the practice of selling and eating exotic animals has traditions that go back forever. Apparently, certain exotic animals are believed to have healing powers for different ailments. Hard to break thousands of years of tradition.

Not sure if this is true or not, but it sounds logical.

The problem is not the wet markets themselves - it is the specific wild animals that are eaten around the world. We also eat wild animals in America. Every country does. And we also have "wet" markets in America. Just visit your nearest seafood market. This particular virus took off in a seafood market in China, but we have no idea where the first person (patient zero) became infected.

When animals have to go through a screening process, sick animals are removed from the food supply. When we handle or eat wild animals, we do not know if they are sick or not unless it is extremely obvious.

Even handling sick animals presents risks. Some viruses carry over to humans. Most don't. But the more people there are in the world, the more likely we are to come into contact with sick animals, thereby the greater the risk that we will find the one virus that happens to be exactly in the mutated form necessary to make the jump.

HIV jumped species. Ebola jumped species. Flu strains jumped species. Lyme and the Bubonic plague jumped species with an intermediary.

This has always happened, and it will always happen.

I never heard of wet markets before coronavirus.