How do you determine if DDP is worth it?

twinklebug

Home is where the heart is.
How do you determine if DDP is worth it? Unless you plan on some very pricy meals, all in all it seems one would do better just buying as you go. :confused3

I'll admit I don't understand the concept of an appetizer, entree & desert all in one meal. :confused3 Isn't that an awful lot of food in one sitting? Boy oh boy, NO ToT, Rock'n Rollercoaster or StarTours after that meal!

Before we purchased it, I looked at the menus/prices of the places we were planning on eating and did spreadsheet with an estimate of what we would spend if we were not on the plan, adding in tax and tip. I then compared that to the cost of the plan itself. (I know, overkill, but I’m an accountant, I can’t help it).

It worked out for us to be a savings so we did it. We wouldn’t have bought it if it didn’t make sense for us financially, but we really enjoyed it. It was nice having the meals budgeted into the vacation cost on the front end instead of receiving that print out on the last day and getting sticker shock. It was nice to be able to try things we normally wouldn’t have. And the kids loved being able to have dessert at every meal. Having appetizers and desserts was actually once of the things they told their teachers about when we returned.

I think it all depends on how much you plan to spend on food. For example, I save all my Disney Visa points and use those points for food on our trips. I have seen others who bring their own breakfast foods and use the toasters and Microwaves at the All Stars. Also, My family and I do not eat as much as offered with the dining plan. Pluse we enjoy the flexibility of NOT eating if we do not want to, In most cases we split desserts because we are too full, or we lose our appetite when we get hot. Some will save money, some will not.