• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

National or Dollar Car Rental

princess's mom

Earning My Ears
I have used EA for my last two rentals, however, National's rates with DC coupon and old DC rate for November are higher than what I got from Dollar for a full size car. I have never used Dollar before; what kind of lines can I expect at the counter? What is the condition of their cars? Basically is it worth going with so many unknown variables to save a few bucks?:confused:

We most often use National..but Dollar was so inexpensive with the Entertain rate that this time we went with them. We got a brand new (less than 500 miles on it) PT Cruiser (which I thought I wouldn't like and I loved it..lots more room than I thought it would have!). There was no line (we get there about 11 am), and we actually liked the garage pickup better than Nationals..where we can never find anyone. The car was very clean.

We use both, but have been using dollar more since National prices are so high. We like using EA with National, but the counters at Dollar have never been a problem. The cars are much better than National, cleaner and newer. Also intermediate and higher all seem to have key-less entry, a toy my husband loves. You can't go wrong with either of them. I have dollar booked for this week and next month at $126 a week for a full size...great price.