MGM Studios vs Universal Studios

cannonballer70

Earning My Ears
Okay this has probably been debated before but I am new to boards. I havent been to either one in 10 years but from what I can tell it looks like Universal has a lot more newer stuff then MGM has from when I went 10 years ago. We only have one extra day and we are deciding which one to visit, my friend thinks MGM and I think Universal. So I was wondering what everyone else thought and maybe this will persuade her or I to change or minds. Thanks for the help all!!!

MGM without any doubt. But if it's between IOA and MGM, I choose IOA.

Universal because it has new attractions and is a working studio. But they're both good choices.

With the new Mummy ride opening this spring at Universal, inquiring minds might wander over (not that they would have to like it:p )

I enjoy MGM. It could use a new ride soon though.

I would say Universal.

I think MGM is very badly laid out and could use a couple of new rides/attractions

It really depends on what the needs of your family are. I have 2 small children ages 6 and 3 and we have to go MGM. There are lots of attractions for toddlers at MGM but if you have kids that are older, say tweenies and up, Universal might be more appealing. I haven't been to Island of Adventure yet so I cannot say how that park is. MGM has a lot of different attractions for several age groups where Universal tends to be more for ages 7 and up.

I am going to move this thread over to our "themeparks" board, where i am sure you will get lots of good input....also be sure to visit our "Universal" boards !

thanks for asking this
We're planning on 2 Universal/IOA days this Oct. We were last at MGM Dec 02, before that Oct 01.
Last time in Universal was Oct 96, never been to IOA.