Gift of RCI Points/Weeks

amy-bee-0

Earning My Ears
My aunt is unable to use her RCI points and has offered them to my family. I have no experience with timeshares (RCI, DVC or otherwise) but do know they timeshare often at fairly high end places. While I wait on details, what are the chances of being able to book a grand villa at any Disney resort the week of January 19th? Also, what kind of conversion would you need for that (i.e. 3 weeks at a 1 bedroom = 1 week at a 3 bedroom) or does it even work that way?

Thanks
(Not a Disney newbie but a newbie to DVC)

Your chances are extremely slim for January 2013 for any size unit. Except for the unlikely cancellation, the January deposits have aready been sent to RCI and consumed. Do consider lowering your expectations on room size. DVC rarely sends 3BR units to RCI.

I have no experience with timeshares (RCI, DVC or otherwise)...

trading for timeshares works better if you are planning a year or so in advance. 3 months out is pretty much "short notice."

trading for onsite at all (even a 1BR or 2BR) is very unlikely at this point. i'd recommend looking for a 2BR at a good offsite resort...maybe one of these, if possible:

one of the hiltons (grand vacation club)
sheraton vistana villages or vistana resort
bonnet creek

If Bonnet Creek has availability, that would (IMO) be the best choice for an offsite location. I agree, I think hoping for a DVC exchange is a big stretch, though they could get lucky.

Currently in RCI Weeks (not RCI Points) for Orlando Area with Check-in on January 19, 2013, I see 16 resorts:

Club Sevilla (#5169)
Kissimmee, FL 34746, USA
1BR and 2BR units available
Exchange Trading Power Range 8 - 9

High Point World Resort (#2066)
Kissimmee, FL 34747, USA
2BR unit available
Exchange Trading Power 9

Holiday Inn Club Vacations at Orange Lake Resort - East Village (#8896)
Kissimmee, FL 34747, USA
2BR unit available
Exchange Trading Power 19