• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Booking a future cruise while onboard

What is the placeholder and book later thingy? I'm brand new to cruising and this will be my first one will be in September? Is it similar to a bounce back deal, where you call something while on vacation and then get a discount for a future cruise? If so, how do I do it? I'm assuming I will love it and will want to book another one. Thanks!

A placeholder is a $250 deposit on a cruise that must be booked within 24 months. This will give you a 10% on the future cruise. You will need to contact DCL, or your TA if the placeholder is assigned to one, to book the future cruise.

A placeholder is a $250 deposit on a cruise that must be booked within 24 months. This will give you a 10% on the future cruise. You will need to contact DCL, or your TA if the placeholder is assigned to one, to book the future cruise.
That makes sense, Thank you!

How many staterooms can you book with a single placeholder?
Each placeholder is 1 stateroom.
Each physical address present onboard may book 2 placeholders to use on the same cruise. So if traveling with your own immediate family who live together, you may book 2; if traveling with your mom who doesn't live with you, you could each book 2 (total 4).

We're sailing next month and looking at booking a placeholder. In the past we booked the exact cruise, so we've never used a placeholder. Can you only call DCL or can you use the certificate to book online? (We've never used a TA, either, so we're used to booking on our own.) Thanks!!