That terrible smell in Innoventions?

scrapquitler

DIS Veteran
whats the deal with the horrible smell in the building with the Character Spot? The first time we noticed it, we thought it was a plumbing problem or something, but every single time we have been in there in the last two years, we notice it. Why in the world wouldn't Disney do something about it?

I'm a regular visitor and I've been asking myself that question for a couple of years now.I think in the last two years or so there's been one time I didn't smell it,I can't understand how and why it doesnt get fixed.The only other time I smelled something similar in a park or theme park resort was at the Cabana Bay lobby,the newest hotel at Universal.It was a one time thing and taken care of but this smell at Epcot just doesn't get taken care of,close the building if you have to but fix it.

Google for "fiberglass smell."

That may be the culprit.

That smell has been there as long as I can remember. The best guess I have came from another guest, a plumber - our families were in line together, got to discussing the awful smell & he said that Disney really needs to "clean their grease trap."

As to why they don't fix it... I imagine it's not a safety issue, only a smelly issue, and they don't suffer enough damage because of it to warrant an expensive repair. Most guests probably don't return to smell it again & just consider it a one-off plumbing issue.

I've noticed it some trips but not others. I smell it worse outside the building than inside it.

It reminds me of a smell we get around here at times. We have some areas where the storm drains and the sewer drains share piping underground. When the storm drains get really dry the sewer smell takes over and can really cause odor problems. They have tried everything to combat it, including dropping giant air fresheners in there. Nothing works, except rain. It's not something you smell constantly.