"reverse" summer strategy: late afternoon- close?

I was actually thinking about that strategy. I was wondering if I should get PH passes, start out at a recommended park and then later in the evening hop over to the park with the late EMS. But do the lower crowds in the afternoon/ early evening outweigh the travel time between parks (especially if I am leaving with the masses- don't people start leaving about one-two hours before park close? I did PH one time and I did not like traveling between parks. It seemed like such a waste of time. But then again, I am still a newbie when it comes to touring the parks so any thoughts here would be appreciated.

I think people start filing out based on the evening entertainment. At AK, people leave throughout the late afternoon so there's not a mass exodus. At MK, people leave immediately after Wishes, Epcot immediately after Illuminations, and DHS immediately after F!. If your timing is right, you can avoid these crowds.

I think starting with a recommended park and then hopping to the park with PM EMH solely for the EMH would work fine, but I would leave the first park for the EMH actually start at the second park. Travel time is a consideration, and PM EMH are only two hours now so to take full advantage, you'll want to have the most time. If you forego the park hoppers, I would avoid the parks with PM EMH all together based on the crowd predictions for parks with PM EMH.

We're not morning people. Never made a rope drop. We tend to do noonish to close and it works for us. We do July/August trips and the heat doesn't bother us, but then we're from Texas so the 95 degrees that kills everyone else seems like a reprieve form the 100+ degrees we're used to at home.