• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Back from 1st Trip to DL- Thoughts

Ilovestitch

DIS Veteran
My boyfriend and I got back this week from our first trip to DL. We live on the east coast and go to WDW every 4-6 months. I work in the travel industry and Disney was offering a DL deal too good to refuse so that's why we went. We had a BLAST! I was surprised by a lot of things at DL, here's some thoughts (wasn't sure if this belonged in trip reports or not since it's not like a day by day report):

We flew into LAX and made no reservations for transportation. We grabbed our luggage and walked outside, after a few minutes the DL Express bus pulled up and we were on our way- couldn't have been easier. There was only 6 people on our bus.

The Grand Californian is a BEAUTIFUL hotel. Our room was super clean and overlooked the World of Disney store and a clear view of Space Mt. As soon as we walked in the hotel- we both thought it smelled like Disney, it was weird.

It was really shocking how close everything was. I've seen pictures but just walking out of the GC lobby and right through the turnstiles into DCA blew our minds. It was so nice to walk to the parks and back to the hotel, what a time saver.

We were pleasantly surprised with the California Adventure park. I went there with no expectations since the things I've heard about the park over the years weren't so good. We thought the park was awesome- I'd much rather spend the day there versus MGM or AK. I love the Grizzly section- the landscaping was amazing. We didn't think the park looked cheap at all. Loved California Screamin and the moving car on the Sunwheel :scared1: