VRBO advice?

Zippa D Doodah

<font color=red>Suffering from Fairy Alienation.
I'm studying up on VRBO around WDW. I need someone to take me to school about the ins and outs of area VRBO options. Are they as good a deal as they seem?

We are a family of four (youngest is 17) staying seven nights in July. I was looking at Wilderness Lodge, but am seeing very attractive VRBO choices starting at 1/3 the cost of WL. This would be something we have not done before in all of our many WDW trips

all timeshares offsite are cheaper than Disney. being close to the theme parks and free transportation to the parks and airports - as well as a long list of other stuff is the reason why.

I've rented from VRBO a few times for our trips to Orlando and Puerto Rico, and yes, you can find very good deals. I'm not going to lie, the first time I rented, I was nervous. But it was very easy connecting with the property owner and we communicated as often as needed (I am still friends with an owner!!).

I would just make sure that the listings you are considering have been reviewed by several renters. If you find that you love a property but it has no reviews, check HomeAway or the property management company's website (if not a private owner). Rentals get posted on multiple sites and nine times out of ten they'll have reviews listed on other sites if not on VRBO.

And select three or four properties that you like before reaching out to the owners for quotes--oftentimes the calendars aren't updated, so they may already be booked for your dates, or people don't get back to you in a timely fashion (which to me was a sign). Also, take into consideration ALL of the costs involved--there usually are cleaning costs, extra fees if you'd like the pool heat turned on, etc. Make sure to get a formal contract from the owner, and don't be afraid to ask questions! Good luck and have fun!