???s About ABD - Costa Rica

lilyteen

Life is one, big adventure!
Hello! I am new to these DIS forums. Our family just got back from another trip to WDW Orlando last week. Yes, like many of you on this site, I am already in the early planning stages of our next family excursion. Can anyone who has done the Costa Rica trip tell me whether you encountered any problems with crime? I read several articles which mention pickpockets and crime being a problem, particularly in and around San Jose. I also read that the roads can be treacherous at times and medical care is lacking. Can anyone suggest the best (dry) time to plan for this trip? Our family unit consists of younger kids (9, 9, 10) and teens (15, 14) and also an elderly (66). Do you think this will be OK for the older and younger members of our family? I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has been on the tour. I am looking at potentially an April 2010 trip, so would be delighted to hear tips or info that anyone may have. Thanks in advance!

Our family went on the Costa Rica trip last year in April and had a great time. The hotel in San Jose was in a nice area and we didn't hear or see anything that worried us about crime. And during the trip, while the roads may have been narrow, those riding in the bus didn't notice it that much. The drivers were very professional and took the appropriate cautions. And as for the time of year, April was great. We didn't encounter any bad weather and the beach was wonderful. I hope you guys have a wonderful time, and if you have Rae or Gaston as a guide, tell them that the Capps family says hello.