Nikon D50 vs D70s

When it comes to DSLRs, I'm a newbie at best. However, the following links are reviews and specs from dpreview.com. Here's the link for the Nikon D50 and the Nikon D70. Are you pretty savvy when it comes to DSLR or a newbie like me? In another thread, I bought a D50 a couple of weeks ago and we love it! We find that it's very easy to use and takes very high quality photos.

There are D70 owners here so I'm assuming they'll chime in soon. Good luck!

lap3 said:
When it comes to DSLRs, I'm a newbie at best. However, the following links are reviews and specs from dpreview.com. Here's the link for the Nikon D50 and the Nikon D70. Are you pretty savvy when it comes to DSLR or a newbie like me? In another thread, I bought a D50 a couple of weeks ago and we love it! We find that it's very easy to use and takes very high quality photos.

There are D70 owners here so I'm assuming they'll chime in soon. Good luck!

I'm a newbie. I use the 'auto' mode or 1 of the preset modes.

Great! We're in the same boat!...so to speak. I don't think you'll go wrong with either camera. My wife isn't too SLR-literate(not to same I am any better) but she finds that our D50 is extremely easy to use in auto mode. I posted the very first photo I took with it in in another thread but I'll post it again...
120989608.jpg

Let me know what you think... Also, check out some of the sample photo galleries for both the D50 and D70 on pbase.com. The photos there are amazing!

garris3404 said:
I'm a newbie. I use the 'auto' mode or 1 of the preset modes.

From what I've read, "AUTO" mode should be avoided as it doesn't make the best choice in camera settings and it pops the flash up when you may not want it to. I mostly use "P" mode or one of the other semi-auto modes (S, A and sometimes M). I rarely use the other modes (portrait, night, etc).