My new hobby: Watching the exchange rate

Lexx1214

Mouseketeer
It seems like my latest hobby these days is watching the exchange rate and trying to determine when it’s high enough to transfer from our savings account into our US account. I’ve got my own spreadsheets for tracking and everything. Anyone else doing this? What’s your comfort level for exchange?

I watch the exchange most days. I estimate that we would spend about $2,750 for food and expenses. A 5% swing is $138. The rest of our expenses have been purchased. A majority of our remaining expenses are going to be charged on a credit card when we spend it in September. If it got close to $0.80 again I would buy more cash from a friend who works over there but needs CAD. It avoids the bank fees. I am no expert but I really doubt it gets there. The U.S. economy is doing well, NAFTA is still not worked out and the tariffs are in place.

It's brutal. I haven't paid off my trip yet (November) and I keep hoping the rate will get better before I absolutely have to. lol I'm not worried about once we get there, I have a GIC that is getting cashed out right before the trip and that's going towards all of our food, souvenirs, etc. so I don't have to save up for that. But sheesh.... I don't know what my comfort level would be, but right now isn't it. lol

I usually watch and start exchanging money a year or so before a trip. I have one last trip to the US coming up in the fall and then I think we will be staying in Canada for a while. For the trip this fall I had all my cash purchased and sitting in a US account late last year.

When we do start going back to the States I will be doing what you are and watching and purchasing when it looks good. The rate is relative as it depends on where it looks like it might be headed. Right now I would be happy with$1.30 but I don't see that happening soon.