• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Click Here

Four Years, Three Kids and We're Going Back

YesterDark

DIS Veteran
The Pre-Ramble

It's been a tiring stretch over the last few years. I've got a soon to be 6 year old daughter, a soon to be 4 year old son and a recently turned 1 year old daughter. We're going in August, from the 8th to the 14th, and this story started more than four years ago.

Growing up, my family went Disney a few times in the late 80s and early 90s. Just two or three times before I was a teenager. After that, Disney didn't really have a hold on me more than anything else. The Disney Renaissance of the 1990s was great, but it was great for nearly everyone. However, Disney became a distant memory as I graduated high school, collage, started a career and got married. Then in 2015 my crazy sister who bought into DVC at the ripe old age of 21 and a decade later invited the whole family down in 2015.

I contribute to to the site and one of the articles I wrote was based on my own experiences and transferring nostalgia and creating new memories. This is where our real story starts. In 2015 I went down with my wife and two kids, a 2 year old daughter and a 8 month old son to Old Key West for a week. I went down not knowing anything, no planning, and walked into Animal Kingdom the first day looking for a map and figuring out what was in the park. The next day we were in the Magic Kingdom and all of the sudden my childhood hit me in the face like a brick and brought a giant smile to my face.

Soon the smile turned into something different as my Disney princess obsessed daughter saw her fantasies come to life in front of here and that where my love of Disney was born. Two years later I planned a trip, quite expertly I might add you, in August of 2017 with my then pregnant wife.