"Any career" appreciation week, am I the only one that doesn't get it?

ebtbmom

DIS Veteran
I don't get all of the "appreciation day/weeks" that go on for various professions.

I'm talking about myself too because I'm a nurse. We always get little tokens and thank yous during nurses week. Honestly though, it's my job, I do it ONLY for the paycheck. I sure as heck wouldn't volunteer for it!

I guess I just don't see the need to go out of your way to thank someone for doing their job, what they are paid for and expected to do! If anyone deserves an appreciation week it's volunteers.

Or maybe I'm too cynical?

We get lots of nice cards (and sometimes flowers and candy) from parents and kids. The rest of the year, not so much. So yeah, I don't have a problem with it.
People work at jobs where they get bonuses or decent hourly pay...or even overtime pay!!! (What is that!?!) Most of those jobs don't require taking care of other people, so it's nice to be appreciated in a non-monetary way (since we totally don't get it in a monetary way...)

No appreciation for my job, other than a paycheck. I wonder if all of these appreciation days or weeks are management's way of salving their conscience for not paying decent wages?

This is the only one I totally agree with Of course it was designated as such when I was 8 yrs old :

National Police Week
Sunday, May 11 through Saturday, May 17
In 1962, President Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15 falls, as National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty for the safety and protection of others.

Having lost an uncle that was killed in the line of duty I think this is what appreciation/recognition should be about Not secretaries day bosses day teachers day/week on and on just plain silly