• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Renting points and saving $$

Scarlett81

Mommy to my princess and lil pirate
Rental newbie here. I have yet to rent points but am seriously considering it for our next big trip. We are currently considering a DVC purchase, but prior to making that commitment we want to stay in a few villas to get a good feel. I've seen some of the charts, but I'm wondering about other hidden fees, ect adding that in the rental process.

With rental from a place like David's say, can you do better than just booking a villa through disney? Other than availability reasons, do you save $ by renting points?

(We really want to stay at VGF, but so far haven't seen a discount offer through Disney.)
Thanks! :goodvibes

I don't know of any discounts or advantages getting a Vila from Disney. I think it's more $. Well you get daily Mousekeeping is all.

We rented using the boards here and it went very well. If you plan ahead and book at 11 mos using someone who has VGF as their home resort resort you have the best luck. It also depends on the time of year of course.

I've also rented as an owner on David's and know his price per point more for the renter but there is a lot of assurance built in.

Renting from a DVC member is a good deal, but you'll have way less flexibility. Once you hand over your money, there is likely no changing or canceling your reservation.

Rental newbie here. I have yet to rent points but am seriously considering it for our next big trip. We are currently considering a DVC purchase, but prior to making that commitment we want to stay in a few villas to get a good feel.

that's a good plan.

I've seen some of the charts, but I'm wondering about other hidden fees, ect adding that in the rental process.

i'm not aware of any.