Marriott Resorts Closest to MK??

LAJMommy

Earning My Ears
Hi All,

I am totally new to the Dis Boards. We are planning our 1st trip to Disney for January 2011.

My parents will be coming along and have offered their timeshare (Intervale) weeks to us as well as their Marriott Points.

We are looking for a resort (preferably Marriott) that is comparable to the Deluxe Resorts in the Park or better. We prefer to have as short as a commute as possible for going back and forth.

What do you all recommend??

Thanks!
LAJ Mommy

The closest Marriott resort to Disney parks is the Orlando Marriott World Center. It's huge. It also has 3 Marriott timeshare resorts:

Royal Palms (all 2 bedroom villas)
Sabal Palms (all 2 bedroom villas)
Imperial Palms (all 3 bedroom villas)

If you have them look ahead of time, you may find an Interval International "getaway" to one of these. They are usually deeply discounted pre-paid weeks, but you cannot cancel these types of reservations. They can put it in your name for a small extra charge (guest accomodations certificate) so if they find one of these, it may be better than using points or using their Marriott week!

I actually have booked 3 of these getaways in the past: once at Marriott's Grande Vista, and twice at Marriott's Harbour Lake (the third one we're using next month for spring break). For each of these weeks, I paid less than $400 for the total week, including tax, for 2 bedroom villas. I got lucky, and was checking kind of frequently. I really loved Harbour Lake - it is an easy drive to Disney from this location, and I like that it's a smaller resort (more compact). My villa there was recently remodeled last time, and it was so clean.

If proximity to Disney is the main concern, I'd look at the World Center hotel or the 3 timeshare resorts at it. I prefer a villa now that the kids are older - nice to have the space to spread out and the kitchen and washer/dryer.