How to Get Into Ohana When No ADRs Available?

Jaybear

Mouseketeer
All right, I'm new to Disney trips (wife and I are going with our 2.5 year old a week from today), and we are staying at the Polynesian. We would like to eat dinner at Ohana one night, but it seems no ADRs are available at a reasonable hour (i.e., before 9:40 PM). Any suggestions about how to snag a reservation one night at a reasonable hour?

I just don't understand how we got reservations for Cinderella's castle dinner but can't get into Ohana for dinner. Thanks in advance for any and all suggestions.

-Jaybear

be a cast member?

seriously if your going a week from today, it's still january and slow time of year.
Just show up at 5pm when they open and your going to get a seat.
Probably with no wait.
Not all tables are held for ADR's.

ITA with PP about showing up a little before they open for dinner.

Couldn't hurt to check with the lobby concierge upon check-in & throughout your stay. They will have visibility to any cancellations & maybe will find a little pixie dust for a resort guest.

The line to check in at 'Ohana forms before they open. Sometimes there are a few people and some times a lot. I would be there at least 30 minutes before they open and relax on the chairs nearby. When you see the line form, get in it. They also seem to check in VERY slow.
I have always had a reservation and we eat early so I have seen this "event" numerous times. Sometimes people get a pager and sometimes they are turned away.

I've been in your situation many times. I agree with the other suggestions to show up at 5 (preferable 4:45) and get in line. I've done this many times and was always seated within 30 minutes.

Yes, I agree with showing up when they open. Just make sure you have an alternate plan for dinner in case they say they can't seat you.

Agree with the PP.