Help a fella out please

burnaroonie

Happy Together!
Hello everyone! Just pulled the trigger on a new Thor motorhome and would like to have some feedback on all the important things I'll need to know 2 make our camping experience as pleasant as possible. I am a complete newbie so any information will be appreciated. A to Z it's what I will need and nothing is to an important to mention. I know I always get good feedback here I would really appreciate your help once again. Our unit is 23 feet long with all the bells and whistles that I'm not used to using. Thanks in advance! :-)

Best advice I can give is to take it for a trip locally to make sure you have what you need. (Hoses, cables, utensils, blocks, chairs, etc..). Even outside the house in the driveway (resisting the temptation to go in to the house). That is a good way to test it out before you travel hundreds (or thousands) of miles from home.

Accept the idea that stuff will break. And that it will usually be your fault. Tensions/stress may get to you but don't let anyone around you know. Bury the pain deep inside lol.

When you have a spouse or loved one spot for you while you back up, exercise patience.

I like the close-by trip ideas, or even driveway camping. First camping trip should be to a nice park, with level pads. Book a pull through for your first few times out.

Don't bother buying a bunch a stuff that you think you may need. Use the RV for a bit first.

When you have a spouse or loved one spot for you while you back up, exercise patience.
A double "Amen" to this. ::yes::

I will also say that our first few trips out we had nothing but disposable dishes/utensils (Forks/knives/spoons). We have since bought durable dishes but still bring the disposable stuff.

Also, for us, it was worthwhile to get a separate set of pots/pans. We did not go on the cheap either. (we did early on, which is why I don't do it now).