Disneyland and San Diego - best airport(s)? any other advice?

BunnyMacaroni

Earning My Ears
My daughter and I will be visiting California in February and are hoping to spend a few days in San Diego and then 1 or 2 days in Disneyland. I am terrible at trip-planning, and have been reading and researching obsessively about the simplest details. I was hoping someone who knows the area could help me with a few very basic questions.

First, does it make sense to try to do an open-jaw ticket (e.g., fly into San Diego and out of John Wayne)? Or would it make more sense to fly in and out of one airport (and if so, which one)? I'm leaning toward doing 2 different airports, only because that would allow me to avoid adding a 2-hour drive to one of our travel days. (My daughter, 6, is usually a good traveler, but I've never done a 6-hour flight with her before.)

Second, if we're arriving on the weekend, does it make sense to do San Diego first (on the weekend) and then Disneyland during the week? Does that make any difference in terms of crowds?

And finally, is there any general advice that I should know? Things not to miss in San Diego, and so on? I've been reading and talking to friends and trying to educate myself, but I still imagine getting to California and hearing something like, "Didn't anyone tell you this is the two days of the year when Disneyland is closed?" or "February is the worst time to visit southern California, what with the killer bees and zombies and whatnot."

I'm a newbie to SoCal too, so take this with a grain of salt. We are choosing to do Disneyland on a weekend because of the longer hours, nighttime shows, and blackout dates for SoCal annual passholders (check wdwinfo.com for projected hours). Also, Southwest did not charge us extra to fly into San Diego and out of SNA. We will get a car at our arrival airport and then we hope to drop it when we get to Anaheim since we won't need it there.