Would you take your digital slr in this situation....

southernbelle_amy

Mouseketeer
So we are going to Disney world for 7 days in February. This includes me, my husband,and 2 yo son. We went in may 2011 also. The issue is that I am going to be in a conference till 4-5pm for 5 days of the trip.

I have discussed getting a preordered photo pass so my husband could get his and my sons pic when I'm not there. Plus then when I am there we have group shots. I've never done that before.

I have a good little point and shoot and a Nikon D5000. Which I do prefer but also don't necessarily want to carry all the time in the evenings. I feel like 3 photo options is over kill but I'm afraid of leaving the big camera at home and regretting it.

Thoughts? Also any pros and cons to photo pass. Thanks.

I have had good luck and bad luck with Photopass. Our last trip I decided not to use them based on our previous trip because many of the photos weren't very good. As far as carrying the DSLR, I would carry mine, but I always carry an inordinate amount of gear. IMO you will have to decide what you are going to photograph. It sounds like most of the time you are going to be shooting in lowlight so there will be limitations with the P & S. That doesn't mean you can't get the shots with the P & S, it will just take a little effort. My DD has done some amazing lowlight work with her P & S. The DSLR should make lowlight shooting easier. Only you know what you want to shoot, so I would take the best gear for the situations I want to shoot.

Tough call - how often do you get to Disney? I'd say if you only get down here once a year or less, bringing the DSLR might still be worth it - if you're a more frequent visitor, you might do fine without it and in fact it might be a fun challenge working within the limitations of the P&S.