Renting Or transferring DVC points questions...

dis2cruise

Long Island, NY
I have some points that I need to rent Or transfer what is the proper protocol to rent or transfer and which is better? Is there any form that the person I’m renting or transfering points should fill out to protect both parties? Also, payment how is this done? Sorry with so many questions but I’ve never done this before.
Thanks a bunch!!

There is a separate rent/transfer forum under the DVC section.

I have only ever received a transfer and the other owner required payment in a bank check - once he received the check he called to make the transfer and I immediately had access to the points. For my protection he was able to give me a screen shot of his owner page and points status. This might be helpful as there are some reports of shady transactions - people pretending to be owners and trying to scam people. It doesn't happen often but there are scummy people out there. I think payments can also be made by paypal - which might provide a little protection (more so for the buyer/renter) if there are issues.

Either way renting or transferring i guess you can have a signed agreement of some sort. There might be people on here who have a "contract" that could be shared with you.

Maybe for less of a headache you can just do a transfer - that way they are out of your hands and you don't have to deal with making a reservation for people. With renting i guess there is a bit more risk of damage to the room or charges not paid that could ultimately affect you.

If you have enough points you could go through davids dvc and they can help with renting the points. You can check their website for how the process works for owners.

If you have enough points you could go through davids dvc and they can help with renting the points. You can check their website for how the process works for owners.