[Question] Working my way up!

vhien

Earning My Ears
Hello! I'm just curious, without a college degree, how high up would I be able to make myself after working in the parks? Also I want to be a lead one day at my location, how soon is long enough of a wait to be one and what's the pay like?

Well, one of the best fellow Imagineers I had the pleasure of working with had no college degree, started as a ride operator in the parks, and worked her way up to executive producer. I don't know if such a career path is even possible anymore, though, and as a previous poster said, getting a degree is really, REALLY important to advancement at Disney and anywhere else, to be honest. It may seem like "just book learning", but part of it is showing employers that you can dedicate yourself to a 4-year task and then achieve it. Having a relevant degree is even better, but many job postings just state "college graduate--mandatory" and that's it.

Thanks for the responses! I have a HS diploma and that's about it. I left college a while back and don't plan on returning in the near future. I'm not trying to make my way up to top dog or anything. I was just curious as to how far I would be able to go in the company without a degree. I'm just the kind of person that likes to know about things ahead of time so I can prepare for it. Even if I were to go to college while working, the location I'm at is very hard to do both considering how far away I live from the park and how they require us to work 5 days a week too. I would only be getting about 4 hours a day of college, assuming I'm able to coordinate the schedule, then I'd have to rush home to drive to DLR. I'm in a position where I need the immediate money to help my family until we are able to get back on our legs. So right now it's hard to do both. But thanks for the advice and I will surely keep it in my mind for the future.

Thanks again guys!