My files are too big

Califgirl

A girl can dream
Hi, I feel like a fraud on this board because I am just a casual photographer who uses (gasp) a disposable camera.

But, I wanted to be able to add pictures to my posts and I'm trying to figure it out. Out of the pictures I tried to upload, only one was the appropriate size of bytes. Is there a way I can reduce the file size of the other photos so I can put them in my Dis Album and eventually get them in a post?

Thanks for your help! I tried the help button, but I couldn't find anything that pertained to changing the file size of your photo. Can you point me in the right direction?

Most photo editing software packages will allow you to save as a compressed jpeg or gif. These formats squish the data into a smaller file size by replacing pixels of the same color with a smaller version (technically, they just point back to the first pixel of that color). The amount of compression on jpegs can be significant.

I'm not sure which program you are using, but any program that lets you save to multiple formats (Paint Shop Pro, Photoshop, Photoshop Elements) should give you an option to select the amount of compression used. The higher the compression, the smaller the file size. This will not affect the dimensions (length x width) of the picture, just the amount of data stored.

And as for using a disposable, photography is all about capturing light. The mechanism that you use is irrelevant, only the results matter.

HTH

However you change your image size, do it on a copy and not the original, once you have reduced the size there is not going back :)

it to yourself using Outlook Express it gives you the option to reduce the size

If you reduce the size with photo software, be sure to sharpen it a little as the resize will make it a little soft.