"Managing Out" TDS workforce

SorcererMM

Earning My Ears
Those of you who have worked in TDS management should be all-too familiar with the term "managing out" castmembers. It is the process of "helping" them to find thier way out of the TDS operation. How often have you felt that YOU were being managed out? Or have you indeed left the company voluntarily or otherwise after being pressured from your superiors?

As a store manager, I found it quite surprising how often the DM "wrote off" certain members of management as well as CM's because he/she just didn't like the person. I had a CM celebrate ten years of service with the company and the DM did not even recognize it. Not that the CM minded, but it just did not seem right. The DM would rather have seen the CM move on to better things. This CM was a TDS gem who received no respect from the DM or higher.

The DM's and others at TDS have thier own agendas and favorites. When I was offered the SM position at my store, I had to keep it a secret for three days until the DM would notify the other ASM that I was chosen. The other ASM was told that I would be the new SM, two hours before I came to work. The next day that ASM gave two weeks notice and left.

Here's another one. After I left the company, the same DM offered my old position to a close friend and former SM. Where's the problem, you ask? After the person accepted the position, the DM proceeded to conduct interviews with two candidates for the job making them feel like they were being considered for the position when they never had a chance.