Magic Bands

Tandyc

Disney brings out the kid in me!
I'm new to magic bands. We are staying off site. Are they worth the money? Where do I get them prior to the trip? I can link my tickets, dining ressies, and fp+, right? What should I expect to pay for them? My DH has very large wrists. Will they fit and be comfortable? Sorry for all the questions.

I'm new to magic bands. We are staying off site. Are they worth the money? Where do I get them prior to the trip? I can link my tickets, dining ressies, and fp+, right? What should I expect to pay for them? My DH has very large wrists. Will they fit and be comfortable? Sorry for all the questions.
You can use magic bands for your ticket and Fast Passes, but nothing else if staying off site. You cannot pay for anything with them, as they are linked to a credit card on an on site room reservation.
Denise

You can get them online (shopdisney.com, then search Magic Bands). The Shop Parks smartphone app also has them. Not sure if Disney Stores have them.

As far as if they're worth it ($12.99 minimum each), don't feel required to get them. If you don't mind taking your admission ticket out of your wallet/lanyard/etc, there's not an overwhelming reason to get them. There are a few rides that use proximity sensors to get pictures into your PhotoPass account (Mine Train comes to mind) and a little magic that happens at a couple restaurants (Be Our Guest, maybe Satu'li Canteen) so they can find your table easily, but in most cases, especially for offsite guests, tapping your card is equivalent to tapping a MagicBand. They're a nice to have, but certainly not a requirement.

Remember, the linking you mentioned that takes place is to your My Disney Experience account, not a specific ticket or MagicBand. (And another poster correctly mentioned that since you're offsite, you won't be linking any credit card). Once fastpasses, dining, etc. are linked to your MDE account, you can use a magicband or ticket interchangeably.