Labor Day Crowds - I'm a Low Crowd Visitor/FL Resident

twocat

80 miles door-to-door to Disney.
I need help picking some dates.

I have an opportunity to stay at WDW for a good rate around Labor Day but I'm concerned about crowds. I usually travel during fairly low crowd times. October, November, December, May. I know low crowd months don't really exist anymore :-)

What are crowds like around Labor Day weekend? From 8/30-9/3? Or around those dates.

I've checked several crowd calendars and the numbers are really low but that doesn't seem right for a holiday weekend!

Labor Day is 9/3. What would the crowds be like surrounding that weekend.

To be honest, crowds don't bother me but I'll be traveling with my elderly Dad who will be much more happy in a scooter.

I'm a FL resident so I know how blasted hot it's going to be so I'm trying to plan this using EMH and lots of resort time.

We'll be staying at the Yacht Club.

Labor Day crowds are surprisingly light. I think its because all the families with school children have returned home for the start of school.

Labor Day crowds are surprisingly light. I think its because all the families with school children have returned home for the start of school.
Thank you! That was my thought but I guess I'm looking for confirmation.

Anyone else have thoughts?

We go every year end of August and first few days of Sep. Last year it was far more crowded than I've ever seen it - and we left the Saturday before Labor Day (2 days before Labor Day). I think the increased crowds were due to August MNSSHP dates, plus Food & Wine started Thu before Labor Day, plus black out dates lifted on certain FL APs late August.
I suspect it will be much like Jan 2018: no longer a low crowd time.

OP Here
I know the MNSSHP starts in at the end of August, which just seems crazy. But F & W doesn't seem to start until the middle of September. Is this correct?

OP Here