Is it better to book room only and wait for discounts or book package?

DisneyWillow1975

Mouseketeer
Hello! I am a Universal newbie, but planning to change that in December 2019. I've been reading these boards, the Universal website, and checked out a few other resources for advice. My gut is telling me that I should reserve a room only reservation now, and then keep an eye out for any discounts such as an Annual Passholder room. But I'm paranoid that ticket prices will increase like Disney's do, so I'm not sure that's the best plan. We are planning on 2 nights at Royal Pacific, and I was going to buy tickets through UndercoverTourist (bundling with the Disney tickets we'll need for earlier in the week) and upgrade 1 or all to the cheapest Annual Passes if the math made sense once we're onsite (the blackout dates won't impact us). I didn't want to buy all of the tickets now, but am really second-guessing myself. The package prices directly through Universal look more expensive than booking room only and buying discounted tickets, but am I missing something? I am so familiar with Disney, and am really second-guessing myself with Universal planning.

Most people here would advise you to reserve a room by itself and get tickets separately. Just be careful when buying tickets because they do have expiration dates now. I think the ones I bought through UT in July expire next July. You would have to search for the historical date they raise ticket prices, you may be able to purchase before they go up.

I haven't seen any packages from Universal in my time watching that was worth waiting for it vs. room only.

I was wondering this too. I’m hoping for a Canadian offer for May 2019. I phoned reservations today and they said promos for May prob wouldn’t come out till January. So I’m watching and waiting.