How old should they be to go off on their own

Kindermouse

DIS Veteran
i have taken my son to Disneyand by myself many times since I have been single since he was 1 its all we know and it has always been a good experience. He has a few special needs (OCD ADHD and Tourettes) that allow him to have a DAS that we have used as need. The days in the park are slow and we often leave by the afternoon so he doesn't get too anxious or irritable.

This next trip in October we are going for 5 days and taking the cousins...by ourselves. That will be 3 kids and just one me. Their ages will be 6, 9, and my son will be 13. This will be a whole new ball game and while I was excited when I said the cousins could go, I'm getting a bit nervous.

That's a lot more kids at Disneyland than I'm used to. I'm a teacher so I'm used to managing a lot of young children, but Disney is nothing like my classroom and being with your own kids and nieces and nephews is not like being with students. So I was thinking about what I could do to make thing work for the best and I came up with a few ideas I'm not quite sure about.

I was thinking that maybe it's finally time to let my 13 year old go off a little bit on his own. It will help him go at his own pace and it will let the little kids do little kid things that he doesn't want to do. What do you think. Is 13 old enough to go off his own for a ride or two or to take a break and have a snack and a little down time on his own?

Also I was thinking about reward the kids for good behavior. One small souvenir (less than 10 bucks) at the end of th day if the day went well. That's about 150 bucks but maybe it would be money well spent?

What other tips and trick would you give to make thing go more smoothly when I'm out numbered 3/1 with two big boys (9 and 13) and on little girl (6).