Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Budget Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-27-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
tzolkin
DIS Veteran

NYC Inexpensive Hotel

What would be the best budget friendly option for a family (2 adults, 2 teens) to spend a few days in NYC?

Our foreign exchange student and her family are coming to visit us this summer. Since they are flying into JFK they wanted to spend a few days seeing sights in NYC. I know this trip is hugely expensive for their budget, so something relatively affordable would be great. It will need to be somewhat easy to get around though since the parents don't really speak English.

I have no experience at all with public transportation or accomodations in NYC, so any options/opinions would be appreciated.
tzolkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:17 PM   #2
Shelly F - Ohio
Disney Extraordinaire

You are better off looking in NJ for a good hotel deal. In NYC expect high hotel prices.

CBR - 2004 & Joined DVC 2004,
DCL 4 night- 2005,
SSR - Feb 2005, 06, & 09, Oct 08, May 2011, Oct 12, Feb 13..... CSR 07,... AKV Sept 2008,2012,2013... VWL Feb 2009, 2010, 2012 ... OKW Sept 2009, Feb2012...BCV 2013, 2014
Shelly F - Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote
|
The DIS
Register to remove

Old 03-27-2013, 01:19 PM   #3
mcuoghi
Mouseketeer

Try looking at travelzoo or groupon for a deal?
Old 03-27-2013, 01:22 PM   #4
shoney
DIS Veteran

I would also post on tripadvisor.

They often recommend Long Island City which is area in Queens just across the river from Manhattan. It is an easy, cheap subway ride to Manhattan.
shoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 01:25 PM   #5
lost*in*cyberspace
DIS Veteran