Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > Budget Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-21-2013, 06:33 PM   #1
Lindymagoo
Earning My Ears

My Target Red Card Experience

I am a newbie, and have benefited from all the great tips and tricks on this board. I chose to avail myself of the Target Red Card to purchase the Disney gift cards to pay off our upcoming trip. A couple of weeks ago, I went to Target to sign up for the Card, making sure I had my checkbook with me, so they could scan a check to link the account. I received my temporary card (a register slip with bar code), and purchased $500 worth of gift cards that night. Whoo-Hoo! So far, so good, right?

My red card (debit) came in the mail a week or so later; and I quickly activated it; I went to Target on Monday night, because my final payment for our trip is due by the 23rd. and I wanted to ensure I had extra time, just in case something went wrong. I checked my account balance with the bank before I left the house, to ensure that there was plenty in the account to cover everything. I went to the store, and picked up $2150 in Disney Gift cards (43 cards, $50 each) and went to check-out while my husband and grandson wandered the store. I got up to the register, feeling all giddy about the money I was about to save, and was informed by the cashier that it had rejected!!! What???????