Disney Information Station Logo

Go Back   The DIS Discussion Forums - DISboards.com > Disney Trip Planning Forums > disABILITIES! > disABILITIES Community Board
Find Hotel Specials & DIScounts

facebooktwitterpinterestgoogle plusyoutubeDIS UpdatesDIS email updates
Register Chat FAQ Tickers Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-04-2011, 08:20 AM   #1
SmallWorld71
DIS Veteran

Special Ed. info. on school/ town website?

The Story: I am an elementary special ed teacher in a small town. I work primarily in the regular ed classroom with the students and also take some kids out for specific reading services. Our town, like most, has a website. Administration wants all the teachers to update their websites. This is fine, except my colleagues and I don't know what to put on our sites. The classroom teachers generally update with what is happening in the class, homework etc... Since my students are included in the regular class, this would not work. The things administration has suggested instead violate confidentiality.

So, my question, what would you, as a parent, want to see on a special ed. teacher's website?

Thanks for any ideas!

SmallWorld71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2011, 08:43 AM   #2
clanmcculloch
DIS Veteran

I would love to see information about the various techniques used. I know that only some of the techniques would be used for my child, but since we're in communication with each other being the team that we are, I'd likely know which ones so this would give me an opportunity to learn more about the techniques. It might also help open up further communication between parents and special ed teachers.

It might also be helpful to parents who are struggling to figure out how to get help for their kids if you had information about the evaluation process including how to ask for help in the first place. You'd be surprised how many parents are feeling lost and need help but don't know where to start.